top of page

What does Erin Rhoads, the blogger behind The Rogue Ginger, think?

Erin Rhoads, the blogger behind The Rogue Ginger, was so kind to answer my questions on the Zero Waste Lifestyle.

Your general opinion on this lifestyle - what are the prospects of this lifestyle in the future?

I have been living a zero waste lifestyle for 18 months. During that time I feel like my life has changed in many positive ways, that not only benefit myself but also the world around me. I began my journey by giving up plastic, saying no to unnecessary items like plastic bags, plastic bottled water, plastic straws and cups. I then began shopping for my food in a different way; I started buying my food from bulk food stores and co-ops, where I can bring my own bags, jars and bottles for reuse. I visit butchers, delis and fish mongers with my own containers. I also learnt to make my own makeup and simplified my house cleaning routine with no nasty chemicals. As a result I know eat better, save more money and my life feels lighter. I don't feel trapped by my old consumerist lifestyle.

Is it hard to live this lifestyle?

I would say no, it is not too hard. Everyone's life is different and had different needs. So there is no cookie cutter way to do this. The only hard part is changing habits.

Would you encourage other people to do this?

Yes I would! I have yet to meet anyone who has tried to reduce their waste, to not like it this way of living. Many aspects of this lifestyle is not too dissimilar to how our grandparents lived. We have the knowledge on how to live with less and create no waste, we just need to re access those skills. I don't want the next generation to clean up after me. I want them to enjoy the world in all its beauty, without the rubbish.

The biggest obstacle to living this lifestyle. Obstacles can vary person to person. For example, someone who lives somewhere without a bulk shop or co-op would find it an obstacle. But if that person can find others in that town who might want to live the same way and start their own co-op. Another obstacle is time. Alot of people think it takes so much time to live this way, but really, once i started doing things over and over, it became quicker. I can now make a batch of my own lip and cheek tint faster than it takes me to go to the shops to buy a new one. Plus, I know what I am putting on my body is safer too.

Recent Posts
Archive
Categories
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page